Recipes

How to make Vegan Honey (Corn Cob Jelly)

I’m a firm believer in waste not, want not. I’m also a believer in letting people deicide how they want to eat. No judgement period. I have some vegan friends and thought I would make them some for gifts as I had heard that corn cob jelly does taste like honey. Vegans do not consume honey along with other animal products.  I was skeptical about the claims I had heard about it tasting like honey but was curious so I decided to try it out for myself.

Don’t have 12 cobs? Throw cobs in the freezer until you have enough to make this recipe. I have done this and it does not affect the taste at all.

Yield is 4 cups

What you need:

12 fresh corn on the cob

Water to cover

4 cups of sugar

1 package of Pectin (or 6Tbs bulk pectin)

2 Tbs lemon juice (fresh or bottled)

Canning jars

Water bath canner

Method:

Shuck corn and remove the kernels. Use the kernels for other recipes (corn chowder?) Or cook a whole batch at once and then used the shaved corn in a salsa recipe for dinner like I usually do. You can either use raw or cooked corn on the cob. I figure it’s a side dish I don’t have to make for dinner so win-win. Also, keep the corn silk. See the end of this post to find out what to do with it and what it’s used for.

Corn cobs

Take shaved cobs and either boil them for 30 min (hard boil) or you can take the easy route and put them in a large slow cooker and let them cook for about 8 hours or so. I usually snap mine in half at time of their first cooking so that I can fit more into the pot I am going to be using .Add just enough water to cover the cobs and put on the lid.

slow cooker

After 30 minutes if you are using the stovetop method (see above paragraph) or about 8 hours later if your’re busy,  strain your cobs using a fine mesh sieve. I ususally run it thourgh twice to ensure that there are no corn bits left in the corn cob stock. Keep the cobs. See the end of this post to see what to do with them.

Strained

See all the little bits of kernels that have been strained off?

Strained cob water.jpg

I have approximately 9 cups of corn broth after straining. I reduced this down to 8 cups. I then separated the batch into 2 separate batches. Do not make more than 4 cups at a time as doubling jam or jelly recipes does not work. I found this out the hard way.

I then took 4 cups of the corn cob broth and 1 package of pectin along with 2 Tbs. of lemon juice ( I used fresh, but bottled is fine too) and brought it to a boil on the stove. At this point I was also getting my jars sterilized along with the rings and lids ready to go. take a small plate and put it in the freezer. This is for testing your jelly for it “jelli-ness” I also get my waterbath canner ready to go as well.

 

Add pectin

When it comes to the boil, add the sugar all in at once. Stir frequently over medium to high heat until you have a hard boil  (about 5 min. ) that you can’t stir down. (See picture below) Take your plate from the freezer and take a small amount from the boiling mixture. Your mixture is ready when, after a minute, you can swipe your finger( or a spoon)  through it and it does not run back together. Do not take your attention off  your jelly as it will boil over and make the worst mess of your stove.

Stir down and check

From this point you need to take your mixture and place it into your sterilized jars. I usually use 1 cup jars or smaller as they are perfect for gifts. Water bath your jelly for 10 minutes  – this is at sea level. Check with your local extension as to how long to adjust your water bathing to your local area. I also leave them in the canner for an extra 5 minutes. This is not necessary, but something my Mother used to do, so I am just of in the habit of doing so.

If you need help learning how to water bath can, I would highly recommend either  the Bernardin or the Ball canning books. These companies have been in the canning business for many years and I trust their recipes completely. They have lots of instructions and recipes online as well. See this link for more info on Bernardin.

canned jelly

But wait, there’s more. After straining the cobs, I then take some of them and put them in the dehydrator.After they are dried out completely,  I give them to my Guinea Pigs to chew on. Any small hamster or gerbil will love it as well. I store these with a moisture packet to ensure that there is no mold growth that develops. This is true with most dehydrated foods. This ensures that your hard work that went into your cooking and dehydrating doesn’t go to waste.

dried cobs

I also dehydrate the corn silk. This has been long used for bladder heath for ages. This applies to both people and dogs. 2 tablespoons per litre of hot boiling water to make a tea which should be taken 1 cup, 2 times a day. This is not medical advice but folks from many cultures have mentioned this me this and this is something I have used as a supplement to conventional medicine when bladder health has become an issue for either myself or elderly canines.

Corn silk

There you have it. Who knew that corn could be so versatile? If you have questions, please do not hesitate to comment and let me know. I hope you try out this recipe. Happy canning!

 

Leave a Reply

