Recipes · Uncategorized

Sweet Potato Dog Treats

I had teamed up with Glow Acupuncture & Wellness Centre last week to raise funds for the folks who had lost their homes in the fires in Fort McMurray.  I made a lot of dog treats and I’m happy to report that there’s a lot of happy dogs and some money being raised for a great cause. I always make my own dog treats for our beloved pups but I started to think about dogs that couldn’t have flour which I have told is quite common. After a bit of research and some testing, I have come up with a winner. Sweet potato treats are nothing new but they don’t always appeal to all dogs who may be a little discerning (spoiled) like one of our dogs. I figured out a step to make them irresistible. First things first, I highly recommend using a mandolin to ensure that they dry evenly. This ensures that when they are stored, you don’t have issues with mold and also saves you from having to fuss with them too much when they are drying. Mandolins are not very expensive, around $20, and if you ask one of your friends, chances are they have one you can borrow.

start to slice

The trick is to make sure you focus on what you are doing because just once being cut by a mandolin, you don’t forget to keep your mind on the task at hand. (Pun definitely intended.) Keep slicing to your desired amount.

sliced finished

Here is where I found the truck to making these irresistible to dogs: I soak the sweet potatoes in chicken broth. A couple of weeks back, I had posted a tutorial on how to make chicken broth. This again, is another use for using your purchases count.

topofjars

After soaking the slices overnight in the fridge overnight, I then placed them on the dehydrator tray.

place on rack

Depending on your dehydrator, how long they take to dry will depend on the size of the slices and what model you have. I have a Ronco TV special which I have used for years and have yet to upgrade to a fancy Excalibur number. You could also place these slices on an unlined large baking sheet in the oven at 170C. Your time and results will vary greatly depending on your oven. Don’t be afraid to try it out though, you will be surprised at how much you can dry in the oven with out having to purchase a dehydrator.  The treats I made took about 24 hours.

finishdrying

See how much they have reduced in size? I store the sweet potato chips in mason jars. I usually give mine away as soon as I can make them but if you need to store them for any length of time, I would recommend using a desiccant packet to keep the moisture out. These can be ordered online on Amazon or Ebay and they are very reasonable. For someone who does a lot of dehydrating for storage or prepping, this would be a wise purchase to add to your kitchen supplies. You don’t want to go to all this work and have it go moldy. This happened to me one year and it was very disheartening to have happen.

I do hope you try this easy recipe out and please do not hesitate to let me know if you have any questions. I will leave you with a picture of my friend’s adorable pup who is a frequent tester and model for my posts on my social media feeds. Enjoy.

pixie close up

 

 

Leave a Reply

