Recipes

Homemade Dog Treats

Chacecookieedit

 

In my last two posts, I had given step by step instructions on how to roast a chicken and make bone broth from the leftovers. There is always some left over bits of chicken sitting in the fridge from the remnants of the carcass. Here’s how I use them up and make treats for my dogs. I take the time to care about what food my family buys and eats so why stop there? My animals are my family too and they are just as susceptible to the effects of food additives and preservatives just as much as we are.  This is a an excellent healthy alternative to give to your dogs.  I have given these treats to the fussiest of dogs who will no longer accept anything else. These treats contain pumpkin which are excellent for their digestion as it is a gentle anti-parasitic that will improve the health of your pet but also make them happy as well. All items I used to make these are organic or pastured. Use what you can find and afford.

Preheat your oven to 350 C

You will need:

4 eggs

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1 teaspoon cinnamon (Optional)

1/2 cup of your unsalted chicken broth you made ( or you can use store bought, just ensure it is unsalted.)

1 cup of pureed chicken (or finely chopped)

5 cups of flour plus more for work surface. If your dog has a gluten allergy  you could use a rice flour blended with arrowroot for best results.

Combine the eggs, pureed or chopped chicken along with the pumpkin in a  stand mixer. This is a very dry dough so using a hand mixer will not be ideal for this recipe. Gradually add in the flour a cup or so at a time. You may have to have to start mixing it by hand by the fourth cup of flour or so. If you find the dough is too dry add a bit of water a tablespoon at a time. Knead for about 5 minutes. Cover in plastic wrap and let it rest for an hour.

On a floured board, divide the dough into four pieces. Set 3 pieces aside and roll dough to a thickness of about .5 cm. (They will rise a bit when baked)

rollingedit

Cut out in to desired shapes. I used a mini dog bone cookie cutter for the little dog friends in my life and the larger cookie cutter for the big lovelies in my house.

Place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Flip over and bake another 20 mins. If you want a softer biscuit, shorten the baking time.

baked cookies

Bake for 20 min. and then flip over for another 15 to 20 minutes depending on how big your treat is. You want then to be hard and quite crispy so that they keep well.

The yield depends on what size of cookie cutter you use. I had made some treats for a fundraiser at work. These will keep in a jar in the refrigerator for a few weeks or you can  freeze them.

closeupbagsedit

I hope you try this recipe. Let me know if you do and let me know if you have any questions.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

