Uncategorized

Adorable Crochet Easter Egg Cozys

Side bunny cropped

Hoppy first day of Spring! Every year I have always made our boys something handmade for Easter and this year I asked them if they still wanted something  made since they were getting older ( I have pre and full blown teenagers) and they looked at me as if I had asked them the silliest question and said “Of course!”.  If I think about it though,  it was a silly question,  since I was still chatting up my Mom to make me things until she was well into her 80’s. I guess it’s true that kids never really grow up in their Mom’s eyes.

This crochet pattern is very easy.  I’ve adapted it from this pattern with adjusting the number of rows and as well as converted the chrochet terminology to US standard from UK.

How large your cozy turns out is depending on the size of your crochet hook and the wool you use. The white bunny cozy was made with a standard medium polyester (size 4) triple knit yarn  and the green bunny cozy was made with a finer baby wool (light – size 3) double knit yarn. This takes a small amount of wool so I would suggest if you have a wool stash, to use it up first before rushing off to buy some more.

You could also use a cotton wool which I think would be super sweet. I might try a yellow cotton I have to make a chick cozy.

You will need the following:
3.5 UK crochet hook  (see here for USA conversion chart)
DK yarn (Or baby knit yarn)
beads (for the eyes)
Fork – for making a pom pom
Egg Cozy Intructions:
Ch 2 Row 1: 4 sc in first chain. So make a magic circle
Row 2: 2 sc in each stitch round – 8 sc
Row 3: *2 sc in next stitch, sc in next stitch. Repeat from * round – 12 sc
Row 4: *2 sc in next stitch, sc in next 2 stitches. Repeat from * round – 16 sc
Row 5: *2 sc in next stitch, sc in next 3 stitches. Repeat from * round – 20 sc
Row 6:  Row 7-14: sc in each stitch round – 20 sc
Row 15: *sc2tog (decrease), sc in next stitch. Repeat from *   round – 14 sc  Fasten off.
Bunny ears (make 2):
Ch 2 Row 1: 8 sc in first chain.
Row 2-4: sc in each stitch round.
Row 5: *sc in next stitch, skip next stitch. Repeat from * round.
Row 6-7: sc round. Fasten off.
Bunny tail:
Using a fork, make a mini pompom and attach to the back of the cozy.
Here’s a link on the how to do this.
You can sew on a the nose with embroidery thread using  complimentary colour and I used beads for eyes. Done!
I added a bit of blush on the cheeks to make it Amigurumi inspired. (So cute.)
I am a newbie to crochet and this is a perfect project for someone picking up the craft and takes no time at all. I hope you try this out and please let me know how they turned out.
bunnies2

 

Leave a Reply

