Uncategorized

How To Make Your Own Fruit Roll-ups

JarEdited
We always lose power when we get winds storms here where I live in the Fraser Valley. This is always a good reminder for me to make sure that I should make sure my freezer isn’t too full. I had lost about 3/4 of our frozen food last year and I had canned and dehydrated quite a lot of items to avoid this happening again. We had only lost our electricity for about 3 hours last week and that was enough to remind me to make sure that anything put away months ago, should be used up. I had been gifted some beautiful local strawberries which for the most part, I had turned into jam and syrups but I still had a few packages left. My colleague at work suggested that I make some fruit roll ups and that I should sharsies when indeed they were made. I have made fruit rolls ups before but I had used my dehydrator and I wanted to try a method using just an oven. My dehydrator is currently in full time use drying cherry blossoms to make tea blends and bath salts.
I also wanted to use items that most kitchens would have and most importantly, only use a few dishes. I spend enough time in the kitchen and the point of this blog is to make it all easy.
This recipe has been adapted from www.fifteenspatuals.com but with way less dishes.
I used 6 cups of frozen strawberries so I just adjusted that amount from the following original recipe:
Makes about 6 strips (depending how you cut them.)
8 Oz (1 generous cup) strawberries (fresh or frozen)
1 Tbsp of fresh or bottled lemon juice
3 Tbsp of sugar
Thawed strawberry pics
Pre-heat your oven to 170 C.
I did not drain the juice from the frozen strawberries just in case you were going to ask. I then took my hand blender and processed it until it was smooth and had no lumps.
Handblender pic
I then brought it to a boil on the stove over med – high heat ensuring that it was stirred very frequently. After about 10 to 15 minutes, it should be hard to stir down the boil and the mixture has darkened in colour which means you are cooking out the moisture. Basically you are making strawberry jam, seasoned canners will know when it’s ready and sheeting off the spoon, for those who are just starting out, I recommend the cold plate method. Place a small plate in the freezer, to test to see if your “jam” is ready, place a small amount on this cold plate, give it a moment, run your finger through it. If it stays as is and doesn’t fill back in. It’s ready. I wouldn’t stress out too much over this “test” you are going to dry it out anyway and it will firm up.
jam
Next, take a cookie sheet and line it with a Silpat mat. You can also use parchment paper. If you do use parchment paper, make sure it’s cut perfectly to fit the pan and is smoothed out nicely so that the mixture doesn’t pool in different areas and end up drying unevenly.
I then poured 1 cup of my “jam” and I used the power of gravity to spread it out perfectly. Some people will suggest that you use a spatula or a spoon. This is way easier.
Place in your preheated oven and bake for approx. 3.5 hours.
Fruit roll up oven
The center of the mixture will take the longest to dry. Use a wooden skewer to lift up the edges to test for doneness. Don’t make the mistake I made the first time and try to lift it off when it came it out of the oven. Let it cool for at least a few hours.
Next take your wax paper and lay it out on a cookie sheet. Take some kitchen scissors and cut into strips. Roll up your fruit and enjoy.

scissors 
I’ve seen some people’s videos using a pizza cutter to create the strips but I have no idea how this cuts through both the fruit and the wax paper. I have an excellent pizza cutter and there was no way it was going to work for that. (Internet magic maybe?)  These are perfect for a treat in lunch boxes or anytime you want a treat for yourself. This recipe will
work for any fruit you choose and you could also sneak in some juiced vegetables to add a little bit of nutrition to them. Have fun with this and let me know what versions you create.
closeupjaredited
Leave a Reply

